India is a member of the Missile Technology Control Regime (MTCR), and a participating state of the Wassenaar Arrangement. India is not a member of the Australia Group (AG) or the Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG). India maintains a list of items controlled for export: the Special Chemicals, Organism, Material, Equipment and Technologies (SCOMET) list under Appendix 3 of Schedule 2 of the India Trade Classification (ITC-HS) of the Export Policy. This list is presently aligned with the MTCR and the Wassenaar Munitions List and administered by the Directorate General of Foreign Trade (DGFT) under the Ministry of Commerce & Industry, Government of India.

Export license applications are reviewed by the Interministerial Cooperation Group (IMCG), which includes the Ministry of External Affairs, the Department of Atomic Energy, the Defence Research & Development Organization, the Department of Space, the Department of Chemical and Biotechnology, and the National Authority for the Chemical Weapons Convention.

Overview of India Export Control Policy:

For information on obtaining an export license:

Directorate General of Foreign Trade | Ministry of Commerce and Industry | Government of India (

Note: exports of defense articles require a no objection certificate from the Department of Defence Production of the Ministry of Defence.

India Commercial Guide:

India - Market Overview (



© BIS 2020